If you’ve ever thought about entering a ski race or watching one, it doesn’t get any easier than the Suntrail Special, and February 11th is the day to do it.

Now entering its 23rd year, the Suntrail Special is the most affordable, easiest to get to, most fun and laid back event you could possibly be part of.

The good folks at Suntrail Source for Adventure are celebrating their 23rd anniversary in 2018 and have been supporting the Bruce Ski Club and supplying great prizes for this race since it’s inception.

The Bruce Ski Club did hold races at Sawmill and Colpoy’s prior to the Suntrail Special. From the late 70s through 90s the club held events like the Colpoy’s Loppet, the Kraemer Cup as well as the forerunner of the Suntrail Special, The Sawmill Special. What began as a no frills event is now an extremely popular and professionally organized race on the Southern Ontario calendar, bringing skiers from all over the province to enjoy the Sawmill Nordic Centre trails.

This year’s Special has events for everyone from the novice to expert, and a great family race as well. Whether you race or not, come  out on the 11th to make some noise and enjoy the excitement of this years Suntrail Special.

You can register on line at Zone4.ca by typing Suntrail Special into the search bar before registration closes on February 9th.

Kraemer Cup winners

Kraemer Cup 1991, Individual winners: Martin Kerr, men; Christie Cunningham, women.

Kraemer Cup Winners

Kraemer Cup 1991Team winners: L to R. Martin Kerr, Bruce McGill, Steve Murray

Sawmill Classic 1994 - Owen Sound Sun Times

Sun-Times article and photo for the “Sawmill Classic” 1994.